Awards for Baseball Players

As the excitement of the World Series distracts baseball fans from their everyday activities, baseball players from all over Major League Baseball are busy winning awards. There are 1,280 players in the MLB and only a few are given awards for their outstanding abilities. Young baseball players and lifetime fans love watching their favorite players get rewarded for their hard work with Golden Gloves, Cy Young Awards, and the Hank Aaron Award.

Mickey Mantle Continues to Inspire

At M^Powered, we built our company with Mickey Mantle in mind. As one of the best hitters in baseball, we strive to make quality equipment that “The Mick” would have been proud to use. Our favorite player won several baseball awards in his 17 years of ball playing.

His awards included three Most Valuable Player Awards, a Gold Glove Award, and the most exclusive of all awards, the Triple Crown. He also received many Player of the Year awards from Sporting News, too. In 1974, he was given a spot in the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.

The Cy Young Award

As an outfielder, Mantle was not able to win several of the awards that other position players can win. He was never a candidate for the Cy Young Award because Mantle was never a pitcher. This eponymous award originated in 1956, the year after Cy Young died. For the first 12 years, the award was given to the one pitcher who was considered the best in the MLB. Now, the Cy Young award is given to an American League and National League pitcher.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of American chooses the pitcher and teams will fight hard to get former Cy Young winners on their teams. Don Newcombe was the first winner in 1956. Roger Clemens has won the most Cy Young awards in the history of baseball. The Dodgers have had the most Cy Young winners on their teams.

Golden Gloves and Silver Sluggers

The Golden Glove Award and Silver Slugger Award are awarded to position players at each position each year. The Gold Glove award is given to players at each position, from pitcher and catcher to outfield and infield. The winners are the considered the best at their position. This award is given by managers who can vote for anyone in the league except for the 40 men on their own team roster. The Silver Slugger is also given to position players, but for their performances at the plate. In the American League, pitchers are not given this award; the designated hitter is. In the National League, one pitcher is given the award. Current Silver Sluggers include big names like Miguel Cabrera, Torii Hunter, Mike Trout, Andrew McCutcheon, and Zack Grienke.

Hank Aaron Awards

While the Silver Slugger award is given to the 18 of the best hitters in baseball, the Hank Aaron award is given to the best hitter in the National and American Leagues. This award is selected by fans and media. In 1974, Hank Aaron passed Babe Ruth’s home run record and 25 years later, the award debuted. Prior to this award, no new awards were seen in the MLB for 25 years. Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa were the first winners in 1999. Alex Rodriguez has won the award four times, which is the most in baseball.

The Triple Crown

The most exclusive award in baseball is the Triple Crown, which is only awarded when a baseball player meets the conditions. This award is given to the player who hits the most homeruns, has the best batting average, and the most RBIs in one season. Only 17 players have ever won this award. The first was Paul Hines, who won the award in 1878 with all of four home runs. The newest addition to the club is Miguel Cabrera who ended a 45 year drought in 2012. Our Mickey Mantle hit the most home runs (52) in his 1956 Triple Crown season; he also won the MVP award that same year.

Take a look at our store or if you have any questions, contact us at or 1-877-NO-CORKS (or 1-877-662-6757).